Our Researchers

Jean Anthony, PhD, RN
Associate Professor
jean.anthony@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Health inequities
  • Transcultural nursing
  • Depression in African Americans and other minority populations
  • Health care decision-making
  • Mental health issues

 

Seong-Yi Baik, PhD, MS, RN
Associate Professor
seongyi.baik@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Depression
  • Comorbidities

 

Tamilyn Bakas, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN
Professor and Jane E. Procter Endowed Chair
tamilyn.bakas@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Family Caregiving
  • Stroke
  • Chronic Conditions
  • Older Adults
  • Telehealth

Bonnie Brehm, PhD, RD, LD
Professor
bonnie.brehm@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Obesity and weight loss diets
  • Obesity and energy balance (i.e. energy intake and energy expenditure)
  • Interprofessional education 

Angela Clark, PhD, RN
Assistant Professor
angela.clark@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Addiction
  • Harm reduction strategies

Gordon L. Gillespie, PhD, DNP, RN, CEN, CNE, CPEN, PHCNS-BC, FAEN, FAAN
Associate Professor
gordon.gillespie@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Workplace violence (patients, visitors, coworkers)
  • Emergency nursing
  • Active learning strategies

 

Greer Glazer, PhD, RN, CNP, FAAN
Dean, Schmidlapp Professor of Nursing, & Associate Vice President for Health Affairs
greer.glazer@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Academic service partnerships
  • Domestic violence
  • Women's health

 

Denise Gormley, PhD, RN
Professor & Interim Sr. Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
denise.gormley@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Organizational systems
  • Work climate
  • Commitment/job satisfaction
  • Nursing shortage – retention and turnover
  • Faculty work issues
  • Nursing education – online/DL

 

Cheedy Jaja, PhD, MPH, MN, MSN, PMHNP-BC, RN
Associate Professor
cheedy.jaja@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Pharmacogenetics of analgesic medication
  • Sickle cell disease pain management
  • Chronic pain and psycho-social wellbeing

 

Kimberly D. Johnson, PhD, RN, CEN
Assistant Professor
johns4kb@ucmail.uc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Emergency nursing
  • Triage Interruptions
  • Improvement science
  • Quality and Safety in Nursing Care

Holly Jones, PhD, RN, CFNP, RNFA
Assistant Professor
joneshj@ucmail.uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Women's Health and Mid-Life Women
  • Perceived Stress
  • Symptoms Management
  • Preventive Health

Rebecca Lee, PhD, RN, PHCNS-BC, CTN-A
Assistant Professor
lee2rc@ucmail.uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Homelessness
  • Vulnerable Populations
  • Culturally-Tailored Health Promotion 
  • Transcultural Nursing
  • Public Health Nursing
  • Interprofessional Education & Practice, Public Health
  • Qualitative & Mixed Methods Research

Elaine T. Miller, PhD, RN, CRRN, FAAN, FAHA
Professor
millerel@ucmail.uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Informal and formal caregiving relationships of severely physically impaired adults and their primary caregiver
  • Brief educational interventions to reduce modifable stroke risk factors in adults

Caroline Morrison, PhD, RN
Assistant Professor
caroline.morrison@uc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Stem cell transplant/Oncology
  • Symptom management
  • Self-management
  • Medication adherence
  • Behavioral intervention

Robin Osterman, PhD, RNC-OB, CNS
Associate Professor
robin.osterman@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Alcohol/Substance use
  • Pregnancy
  • Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders (FASD)
  • Behavior change and behavioral interventions 
  • Motivational interviewing
  • Post-Traumatic Sress Disorder (PTSD) and trauma-informed interventions

 

Joseph Perazzo, PhD, RN
Assistant Professor

joseph.perazzo@uc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Optimizing care transitions among individuals receiving new diagnoses
  • HIV self-management across the lifespan
  • Development of clinically translatable interventions to promote health behaviors that compliment medical therapies for chronic disease
     

Tracy Pritchard, PhD
Assistant Professor

tracy.pritchard@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Transition to college
  • Access to education for diverse populations
  • Genetics and cardiovascular disease

 

Brittany Punches, PhD, RN, CEN
Assistant Professor
brittany.punches@uc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Emergency Care
  • Patient/Provider Perceptions
  • Iatrogenic Addiction - Opioid
  • Reproductive Health

Susan Reutman, PhD, MPH, RN
Assistant Professor
susan.reutman@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Occupational health epidemiology focused on vulnerable worker sub-populations

Mary Risinger, PhD
Assistant Professor - Research
mary.risinger@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Hereditary hemolytic anemias including red blood cell membrane disorders and Sickle Cell Disease
  • Genetic modifiers of Sickle Cell Disease
  • Red blood cell volume regulation

 

Donna Shambley-Ebron, PhD, RN, CTN-A
Associate Professor
donna.shambley-ebron@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • HIV/AIDS prevention
  • African American women and girls
  • Ethnography
  • Health disparities
  • Transcultural nursing
  • Community based participatory research

 

Carolyn Smith, PhD, RN
Assistant Professor
carolyn.smith@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Teens and workplace aggression
  • Teens and dating violence