Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Our Researchers

Jean Anthony
Associate Professor
jean.anthony@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Health inequities
  • Transcultural nursing
  • Depression in African Americans and other minority populations
  • Health care decision-making
  • Mental health issues

Seong-Yi Baik
Associate Professor
seongyi.baik@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Depression
  • Comorbidities

Tamilyn Bakas
Professor
tamilyn.bakas@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Family Caregiving
  • Stroke
  • Chronic Conditions
  • Older Adults
  • Telehealth

Karen Bankston
Associate Dean
karen.bankston@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Health care economics
  • Leadership
  • African American women's health
  • Change management

Bonnie Brehm
Professor
bonnie.brehm@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Obesity, specifically energy intake and expenditure
  • Eating disorders, specifically the relationship between eating disorders and excessive exercise
  • Behavior change

Angela Clark
Assistant Professor
angela.clark@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Addiction
  • Harm reduction strategies

Trudy Gaillard
Assistant Professor
trudy.gaillard@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Type 2 diabetes and ethnic differences in insulin sensitivity and glucose-dependent glucose disposal

Gordon L. Gillespie
Interim Associate Dean for Research & Translation, Associate Professor
gordon.gillespie@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Workplace violence (patients, visitors, coworkers)
  • Emergency nursing
  • Active learning strategies

 

Greer Glazer
Dean, Schmidlapp Professor of Nursing, & Associate Vice President for Health Affairs
greer.glazer@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Academic service partnerships
  • Domestic violence
  • Women's health

Denise Gormley
Assistant Professor & Executive Director of Graduate Programs
denise.gormley@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Organizational systems
  • Work climate
  • Commitment/job satisfaction
  • Nursing shortage – retention and turnover
  • Faculty work issues
  • Nursing education – online/DL

Cheedy Jaja
Associate Professor
cheedy.jaja@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Pharmacogenetics of analgesic medication
  • Sickle cell disease pain management
  • Chronic pain and psycho-social wellbeing

Kim Johnson
Assistant Professor
johns4kb@ucmail.uc.edu

Research Interests:

  • Emergency nursing
  • Triage Interruptions
  • Improvement science
  • Quality and Safety in Nursing Care

Holly Jones
Assistant Professor
joneshj@ucmail.uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Women's Health and Mid-Life Women
  • Perceived Stress
  • Symptoms Management
  • Preventive Health

Rebecca Lee
Assistant Professor
lee2rc@ucmail.uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Homeless culture and health
  • Transcultural nursing
  • Community nursing

Donna Martsolf
Professor Emerita
donna.martsolf@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Interpersonal violence (sexual and teen dating)
  • Cross-cultural aspects of health and illness

Elaine Miller
Professor
millerel@ucmail.uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Informal and formal caregiving relationships of severely physically impaired adults and their primary caregiver
  • Brief educational interventions to reduce modifable stroke risk factors in adults

Robin Osterman
Assistant Professor
robin.osterman@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Alcohol/Substance Use
  • Pregnancy
  • Behavior change
  • Motivational interviewing

Tracy Pritchard
Research Associate

tracy.pritchard@uc.edu
Research interests:

  • Transition to college
  • Access to education for diverse populations
  • Genetics and cardiovascular disease

Beverly Reigle
Associate Professor
beverly.reigle@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Oncology
  • Breast cancer

Susan Reutman
Assistant Professor
susan.reutman@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Occupational health epidemiology focused on vulnerable worker sub-populations

Mary Risinger
Assistant Professor - Research
mary.risinger@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Hereditary hemolytic anemias including red blood cell membrane disorders and Sickle Cell Disease
  • Genetic modifiers of Sickle Cell Disease
  • Red blood cell volume regulation

Donna Shambley-Ebron
Associate Professor
donna.shambley-ebron@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • HIV/AIDS prevention
  • African American women and girls
  • Ethnography
  • Health disparities
  • Transcultural nursing
  • Community based participatory research

Carolyn Smith
Assistant Professor
carolyn.smith@uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Teens and workplace aggression
  • Teens and dating violence

Heather Tubbs Cooley
Nurse Scientist, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital (Primary Appointment) & Assistant Professor of Clinical
heather.tubbs_cooley@cchmc.org
tubbschr@ucmail.uc.edu

Research interests:

  • Nursing care quality and safety
  • Health services research
  • Improvement science
  • Nursing workforce trends
  • Neonatal and pediatric outcomes research